Body identified as missing Fayetteville man


Kevin Cortez Bradley


Copyright 2008 WRAL.com

Police have identified the remains of a body found in the woods on July 26 as those of a missing Fayetteville man.

The State Medical Examiner’s Office identified the man as Kevin Cortez Bradley, 22, of 1091 Pleasant Oak Drive.

He died of a single gunshot wound to the head, police said. Detectives are still investigating his death.

Bradley’s mother reported him missing on July 2.

Eight days later, police sent out a press release asking for the public’s help to find Bradley. According to his mother, he suffered from bipolar disorder and was not taking his medication.

At the time, police said they considered him “armed and dangerous,” because he had stolen a firearm from his stepfather.

Bradley’s skeletal remains were found in the woods off Nan Street.

One thought on “Body identified as missing Fayetteville man

  1. It has been a year and three months now since that dreadful day was forced upon my family face; the fact that my wonderful and loving son was gone and no longer would return home hit us all like a ton of bricks.
    I can not begin to tell you the pain and disbelief that my family was forced to deal with. We still have unknown truths that led to my beloved son’s death. However, I have come to realize that some things are better left unsaid and just turning them over to God.
    The only peace I have now in living without my Son is knowing that only God controls when we enter and leave this world.
    I have learned to accept that God wanted my Son just as much as I/we did.
    No one can prepare you for the sudden loss of a child. You have to seek God and hold on to your faith. I tried talking to family, friends, church members and counselors. This didn’t work for me because no one I talked to had experienced what I had.
    However, out of all the things people said to me during this difficult time; the one message that have comforted me the most is the advice my Pastor gave me and my family. He said,not to dwell on the way Kevin died, but on the way he lived. The legacy he left behind for others to follow.
    Kevin was well respected and loved by all. His High School & College accomplishments were remarkable. But just like most young adults he went down the wrong road and was working hard to find his way back to the life he was so proud of; his love for family, friends and football.

    So to anyone that is reading this message; please know that Kevin wasn’t this bad person that died. He was a kind young man that God called home to the land of peace and rest.

Leave a Reply

